“Drawing in the City”

Early this week, I wrote about our trip to LeaLA, a Spanish language book fair. But no where in that post did I go into detail about what I bought. I bought a couple of collections of short stories, but the one book I want to share here is a sophisticated children’s book entitled, Dibujando en la Ciudad or Drawing in the City by Tejubehan.

Cover by Tejubehan

Cover by Tejubehan

I know you are not supposed to judge a book by its cover, but I did, in a good way. Both Ana and I saw Dibujando en la Ciudad on the top shelf of a booth and we were both drawn by the color, illustrations and title. The title reminded me of when I first met Luis. He told me he would draw everywhere, bus stops, parks, in between classes on a bench, in the car, etc, etc. I’ve always treated art making differently, only working when the time “felt right” and at home. This approach obviously didn’t take me far. Inspired, I reached up, tippy toes and grabbed it!

Illustration from "Dibujando en la Ciudad" by Tejubehan

Illustration from “Dibujando en la Ciudad” by Tejubehan

I started reading the story of an extraordinary woman (Teju) who learns to survive in the midst of extreme poverty and a patriarchal society. Although women cannot make a living singing like men in her village, Teju imagines a different world, one where she could ride a train with the rich and go live in the city.

Illustration by Tejubehan

Illustration by Tejubehan

Eventually, Teju and her family have to leave their village to find work. When they get to the city, they live on the streets and soon thereafter, her parents marry her off to Ganeshbhai, a singer. They both start to sing together on the streets, it is not so much of a taboo for women to sing for a living here. And they struggle with meager coins people toss at them until……

Illustration by Tejubehan

Illustration by Tejubehan

An artist asks Ganeshbhai and Teju if they’ve ever tried drawing. Teju takes a pen and paper and the magic begins. She begins to draw everything she sees in the city seamlessly. She flows and her voice comes out in her drawings through lines and dots. Her style distinctive already. Her heart begins to beat faster because she’s found her purpose!

Illustration by Tejubehan

Illustration by Tejubehan

I absolutely loved this book! And I bought it of course. First, I love Teju’s style, the detail of her drawings, the tiny dots that fill the pages, her character’s eyes and imperfections. Second, Teju’s story reminds me of a conversation Luis and I have had with our students-that the purpose of our lives is usually what comes the easiest and because it is easy, we tend not to think much of it. It is usually what we enjoy the most, what comes naturally but we tend to think life has to be a struggle. Yet, Teju recognizes her gift right away and begins drawing and telling stories.

Teju’s story tells readers that even in the most difficult of circumstances, our life purpose speaks to us. We tell our students this and remind them to work hard at their craft, yes, but have fun at the same time. We tell them not to forget what they love even when life gets difficult. And like Teju and Luis, the city also inspires Brian and Ana. They photograph, write and draw what they see in Los Angeles. I learn something new about a city I thought I knew well every time I look at their work:) I will pass Dibujando en la Ciudad to them so that they are reminded that they are on the right track. I know Ana is waiting for it!

Jennifer C. Fuentes

Comments are closed.

  • Friends of The Transit Center

  • Enter your email address to follow The Transit Center and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 141 other subscribers