Mixed Media, Typewriters and Process

Mixed Media, Typewriters and Process

The process of anything is by far more important than result, and art is not an exception. In enjoying the process, we learn to live in the present moment, slow down and be guided by something higher than ourselves. With any art form, particularly mixed media, the process is for the most part slow for me. And this is good! It takes time to paint, choose the text or papers, cut, glue, paint again, etc, etc. This piece is a 6×6 for instance, and it took a good while to complete.

I used to have a typewriter when I was a kid. I wasn’t so concerned with what I was typing. Instead, I was having fun pressing the keys all the way down, my small fingers feeling the weight of each key. I used to like using blue, orange and pink paper and seeing how the black ink looked in contrast to each color. Eventually, I started writing stories and made them long since I loved the click, clack sound and everything else that came from the typewriter. The experience was more important to me. Maybe this is why I’ve painted a few of these old writing machines. I wish I still had one.

Jennifer C. Fuentes

Comments are closed.

  • Friends of The Transit Center

  • Enter your email address to follow The Transit Center and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 141 other subscribers